The Faithful Gardener

on

The Faithful Gardener (A Wise Tale About That Which Can Never Die) Author Clarissa Pinkola Estes, PhD / HarperCollins Publishers / Copyright 1995 / Hardbound, 81 pages

When there is so much pain that words are knocked out of my head and I am left with ringing silence, I turn to books. Somehow, other people’s stories soothe and comfort me. Somehow, other people’s words make it okay for me to sit still in the silence and just listen.

When my father passed away in January, there was one book that I knew I could lean on – Clarissa Pinkola Estes’ “The Faithful Gardener”. This book found me more than a decade ago, at a time when we were grieving over the death of my brother-in-law. It spoke of a life force that goes through the fires of change. The wisdom was not sugar coated but lovingly shared through the sublime art of story tellers.

So I got to re-read this short book all over again and I savored the strength and openness between the lines. Tears came and they were welcomed. “Go out into the fields to weep, for there your tears will do both you and the land great good.”

It gave me great comfort, I did not have to be afraid of the nothingness that seemed to have sat down on my chest and my brain, the field lies fallow as a hospitable invitation for new things to come and take root.

I hope you can find a copy. I can only share this wise little book with you and hope you it gives you the same solace it had given me. I thank the author for writing this book and I wish to let her know how much it meant to me.

                                           “…It is in the middle of misery
                                           that so much becomes clear.
                                           The one who says nothing good
                                           came of this
                                           is not yet listening.”

Leave a Reply

