Women Who Run With the Wolves

Women Who Run With the Wolves (Myths and Stories of the Wild Woman Archetype) Author Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D., / Copyright 1992 / Published by Ballantine Books, New York / 520 pages

 

This is a profound book. Not an easy book, no, but one that stays. It stayed with me and took root into my psyche, and many days when I am feeling lost, I aspire to re-connect with the wild woman inside — the one who knows.

Allowed my own devices, I would not have thought it important to reflect on the power of stories, and of our apparent need for them. There are many things I would not have considered if not for wise books that nudge me to a path of discovery.

When I am in a bookstore searching for books to buy, I take time to find the one (or maybe two, or three) that calls to me. (Yes, I am that crazy woman with a pile of books in the basket, taking so long touching the pages and sniffing the paper.) I remember that this one called me by name.

In the book blurb, Alice Walker said it best when she called it an “oracle”. Oracles, as you know, are not the easiest things to understand and you appreciate it much more when given time and deeper reflection. This is a book that I read and re-read and re-read and I find more insights as I do. The deeply Jungian psychological slant is going to throw any speed reader,  I would say. This one I had to pace, I had to put the book down several times to let my brain catch up with my eyes, and I would always feel a rumbling hum deep in mind when it did. I would describe the sensation as feeling my center purring.

The trouble it takes to read this book is so worth it. Now, I look around and recognize the power of stories and those who wield that power and their agenda. I am more able to appreciate how stories can ennoble and enable, as well as diminish and destroy. I am more able to appreciate the people who bring me those stories and honor their need to tell it. And I, as a woman, can better thresh out the value of those childhood stories that have been planted into my growing self and be able to hear the voice of La Que Sabe.

I thank the wise Clarissa Pinkola Estes for this book, and I thank her for “The Faithful Gardener” another book of hers that I have which had brought so much comfort in dark times.

If you are looking to finish a book before the end of the celebration of Woman’s Month, I recommend you find a copy of this one and make it a celebration of your very own story.

Leave a Reply

